♫ soundtrack of my life ♫

I noticed something today. With the rise of personal music devices, people are walking to customized soundtracks to their lives.  30 years ago this wasn’t the case, simply because strapping a 20 pound record player to your hip was out of the question.

Think about it.   Many of us walk, bike,  ride public transit and wait in lines with headphones in our ears.  Out of these little speakers comes the music that, for the most part, embodies who we are. The sounds that enhance the atmosphere that is surrounding us.

Over the years the soundtrack will change, but songs will be repeated, resurfaced and rediscovered. Those songs are the ones that make the soundtrack.

These 10 tracks are the audio clips laid out on the narrow strip of film that is the soundtrack of my life.

People Turn Around – Delta Spirit: What story is yet to be told? “The song that needs singin, has already been sung before.”

Mama’s Eyes – Justin Townes Earle: Stripped down folk music at its finest. “Sure it hurts, but it should hurt sometimes.”

Tentative – System of a Down: Plain and simple, “We’re going down, in a spiral to the ground, no one, no ones gonna save us now.”

Twilight – Elliott Smith: “Haven’t laughed this hard in a long time. Better stop now before I start cryin’.”

Family System – Chevelle: Dirtiest metal riff I have ever heard. “What a man’s got, he’ll learn to hate.”

No One’s Aware – Jack Savoretti: “Being alone doesn’t mean that you’re free, so come with me.”

Old Man – Neil Young: Success is only a title. “Doesn’t mean that much to me to mean that much to you.”

You Never Even Called Me By My Name – David Allan Coe: Those who know this one, just know. “You never even called me by my name.”

Glory Bound – Martin Sexton: “I’m taking a chance on the wind, I’m packin’ up all my bags.”

Good People – Kyle MacKenzie: You know who you are. “You, my friends, are good people.”

What’s your soundtrack? I would love to hear it…

4 responses to “♫ soundtrack of my life ♫

  1. Yo buddy,

    Love the Martin Sexton and Elliott Smith. Reminds me of the old days. And you know how I feel about System haha.

    Roughly, I’d say some of mine would be:

    Wolf Parade – I’ll Believe in Anything
    Beirut – Elephant Gun
    Kings of Leon – Milk
    Mr Cheeks – Reminisce 2003
    RJD2 – Ghostwriter
    The GO! Team – Junior Kickstart
    And then maybe more recently some Stillness is the Move by Dirty Projectors

  2. Good call guys.

    My list (without naming any that have already been named) would look like this:

    Broken Social Scene – It’s All Gonna Break
    Wolf Parade – Kissing the Beehive
    LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
    Billy Bragg and Wilco – One by One
    Peter Bjorn and John – The Chills
    The Go! Team – Huddle Formation
    Sin Fang Bous – Lies (Um Mike, I can’t believe you didn’t put any SFB on your list)

    And Most importantly, my number one song thus far in life:
    Notorious B.I.G. – Mo Money, Mo Problems

Leave a Reply

